Stadion Feijenoord


* Address: Van Zandvlietplein 1, Rotterdam
* Country: Netherlands
* Capacity: 51,000
* Opened: 23 July 1937
* Main use: Football
* Tenants: Feyenoord (football)

Extra stadium info – Stadion Feijenoord

The stadium opened in 1937 with a capacity of 64,000. It has several nicknames, like De Kuip (The Tub) and De Voetbaltempel (The Football Temple). It hosted UEFA Euro 2000 matches of Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain and Yugoslavia. The stadium hosted the final of the tournament, which was won by the national football team of France after defeating Italy 2-1. Feyenoord have been tenants of the venue since it opened in 1937. They became the third Dutch sports club with a value of $100 million, after Ajax and PSV. Feyenoord were founded in 1908 under a different name. They were crowned Dutch football champions in 1924 for the first time in their history. In 1971, they became the second club with 10 Dutch top-flight football league titles.

Feyenoord won the European championship for football clubs in 1970 for the first time in their history after beating Celtic Football Club in Italy. One year later, Ajax from Amsterdam became the second football club from the Netherlands with a European championship title. In 1988, PSV from Eindhoven became the third European football champions from the Netherlands. In 2002, Stadion Feijenoord hosted the UEFA Cup final. The tournament was won by Feyenoord after defeating the German side Borussia Dortmund 3-2. 48,000 people attended the game. Feyenoord drew an average home attendance of 39,000 during that domestic football league season.

© Anne-Marie Kouwenhoven

© Wim van der Maarel

© Marcel Driessen

© World of Stadiums webmaster

View larger map